What is an executive capital city?

Submitted by: Administrator
South Africa has three capital cities.

1) The legislative capital, Cape Town, is where the parliament is, and is where laws are drawn up.

2) The judicial capital, Bloemfontein, is where the Supreme Court of Appeal sits, and it is where the laws are interpreted.

3) The executive capital, Pretoria, is where the state officials have their headquarters, and it is from Pretoria that the country is run.

This rather unusual arrangement of three capitals is due to the arrangements made when South Africa was put together from four separate and independent countries. The three that were awarded a capital were Transvaal Republic, Orange Free State, Cape Colony and Colony of Natal. Three of the four countries each got a capital. Natal missed out for some reason.
Submitted by: Administrator

Read Online Geography Job Interview Questions And Answers