1. Tell us how would you motivate your subordinates?
Candidates should describe how they would ensure that their workers are adequately trained - giving them confidence to do their job - and that there are clear lines of communication between staff and management. They would also delegate duties to their subordinates as delegation motivates workers by instilling in them a sense of trust.
2. Can you pitch my company to me as if I were a potential customer?
This will show you how much they know about your company and what their level of passion is for your product, service or industry. It will also tell you what their initial impressions are without the insight of working for you (yet). It's unlikely they'll be prepared for this, so it can also show you how quickly they work on the fly.
3. Can you explain me about SEO and its relationship with social media?
There are several techniques for improving SEO with the help of social media. Make sure that they understand the latest Google algorithms, what is rewarded and punished. They should also be aware of the latest social algorithms and policies. Google Analytics should be part of this discussion.
4. Please explain how would you allocate our social media budget?
Specific metrics and KPIs should be discussed and what should go where percentage-wise. For example, a decent percentage can be allocated to Facebook Ads - a medium-sized company can spend as much as $500 per month on paid advertising. Human capital, social media tools, and training are also absolutely necessary for high ROI.
5. Explain me one scenario where you will prefer CPC model then CPM model?
When the campaign has very low daily budget (say $5 a day) i.e. there is no sufficient budget to spent on optimization, it's best to go with CPC.
6. Tell us something that is complicated but that you know well?
This is similar to the storytelling question but from a more technical aspect. The "something" can be anything. Possibly they know how to rebuild a car engine or know how to explain social media to their grandparents. The point is, they should be able to comprehend a complex subject and articulate it in a simpler, understandable form.
7. Explain me how do you deal with negative comments or a brand reputation crisis?
The way they define 'crisis' can tell you a lot about how much experience they have. If they haven't had a real social media crisis in their own experience, they should at least be familiar with some famous brand reputation blunders. Dealing with negative comments or reviews properly is vital to this position, ask for examples.
8. Tell us how would you communicate with the rest of the company?
Social media management must support other marketing and customer service initiatives in the business. Your future employee will need to be in the loop with most other aspects of the business and will need the buy-in of co-workers to achieve true success. The roles and responsibilities of each cog in the machine (your business) should be defined as clearly as possible.
TSPL is Target Search Page Locations. It is a type of portfolio bid strategy that automates bidding across multiple campaigns to show your ad on the top of the page or on the first page of Google search results. Source:support.google.com
10. Tell us can we see some examples of the social media projects you've worked on?
Results speak for themselves. If they can't or won't show you anything, then they either don't have the experience you need or they aren't very good at what they do. Would you try to sell a product to potential clients without being able to show it to them?
11. Tell me how would you ensure productivity across multiple stores?
Candidates should list hiring the appropriate store managers and making scheduled store visits as part of their efforts to ensure the operational efficiency of multiple stores.
TOS is Target Outranking Share. It is a portfolio bid strategy that helps your ads outrank ads from another domain.
Source:support.google.com
13. Tell me in Adwords, what are the “Big Three” components of ad quality?
The three big components of ad quality are:
Expected click-through rate: The likelihood that the ad will be clicked
Ad relevance: How closely the ad matches the intent behind a user's search
Landing page experience: How relevant, transparent, and easy-to-navigate the page is for users
14. Tell me what, in your opinion, is the most important quality in a District Manager?
Candidates should list excellent leadership and organizational skills as essential attributes in a District Manager.
15. Explain me what is the most important thing a social media manager should be doing?
This helps you understand what they think social media marketing is and how it should be done. The best answer will be a version of ‘listening to' or ‘monitoring' your audience and your competitors. The old saying about two ears and one mouth is especially relevant in social media management.
16. Can you tell us what strategies would you use to generate leads?
This question moves from the more general and abstract into the meat of the matter. They should be able to outline two or three specific strategies that will feed leads into your sales funnel via social engagement.
17. Explain me what are the different pricing models in online advertising?
The different pricing models in online advertising are:
1.CPM – Cost per Mille (1000)
2.CPC – Cost per Click
3.CPA/CPL – Cost per Action/Lead
4.CPE – Cost per Engagement
18. Explain me how would you use data in your role?
Candidates should acknowledge the importance of data in analyzing business successes and failures, employee productivity and identifying areas for improvement.
19. Tell us how would you rate your attention to detail?
Reveals whether or not the candidate will be able to sign off accurate and error-free content.
20. Can you explain me your biggest social media failure?
Everyone has failures, some larger than others. Of course, what you really want to know, is how they dealt with it. Gain insight into their coping skills and how they deal with negatives by listening to how the issue was resolved. Pay attention to what they did (or didn't do) to ensure that the failure wouldn't happen again.
21. Tell me how does customer service fit into your strategy?
Providing customer service on social media is becoming increasingly more important for businesses with an active online presence. Offering support and posting on social media are two different parts of social media management. Each requires a different approach and seldom, a separate channel. First, they should recognize this fact. Secondly, they should know how to approach each type of conversation - an endorsement, mention or complaint.
22. Tell us do you have an understanding of HTML, JavaScript, CSS?
Say YES (Hint: For a general adops role, technical or programming understanding is not required at that level, if you have them you just stand out of crowd else it doesn't impact your job. Maximum of queries you figure out in google! But if you are completely not aware of technical stuff, do accept that you don't understand but can learn quickly to resolve issues requiring a technical background
23. Do you know what is the four key benefit of dynamic search ads?
☛ Reach and Frequency
☛ Efficiency and time saving
☛ Coverage security
☛ Transparent and control
Using the formula,
CPM = CPC x CTR x 1000
=> CPM = (0.5 x 0.25 x 1000)/100 = $1.25
25. Why should we hire you over someone else as Ads Posting Manager?
This can be used in every hiring situation. Anyone should be able to tell you why they're better than their competition and why they're the best fit for your company. This gives them an opportunity to highlight the best aspects of their skill set and experience.
26. Please explain what are the relevant metrics for tracking ROI on social media?
Engagement, brand reach, lead generation, and conversions. These are the essential measures of social media's return on investment (ROI). Social media managers are comfortable talking about specific terms in Google Analytics, the software they use and the data they can get from each platform.
Don't make the mistake of thinking that engagement on its own is success - without conversions (e.g. site visits, reviews, downloads, leads), it means little and should be improved.
27. Can you explain which social media channels do you recommend for our business and why?
This answers two questions at once. Has the candidate done the research on your company ahead of time, and how well versed they are in various social platforms. Pay attention if they mention demographics, style or frequency of messaging, and overall strategy.
28. Explain me why are IP addresses not so reliable on mobile?
It's because the mobile operators differ in how they handle IP address allocation, Some operators have a fixed IP address for all of their users, others dynamically allocate IP addresses each time the device connects. But most mobiles, whether on 3G or Wi-Fi, will connect via a NAT-ed connection. This means many different handsets will appear to be coming from the same IP address, where the data connection is using a mobile network operator (MNO) gateway, the IP address will be the IP address of the MNO gateway, which will handle multiple user sessions. The handover from one mobile phone tower to the next can also result in IP changes plus dropping from 3G to 2G connection has an effect on the reliability of an IP address, and thus tracking these changes can be problematic.
Using the formula,
CPC = [CPM / (CTR x 1000)]
Using the values,
CPC = [2 / (0.0030 x 1000)] = $0.67
30. Top 25 Ads Posting Manager Job Interview Questions:
☛ Why are interested in advertising as a career?
☛ Describe an ad campaign that you think worked well.
☛ Describe an ad campaign that you think did not work well.
☛ What is your favorite campaign (both past and present) and why?
☛ What tools have you used to create ad campaigns?
☛ Do you have media planning experience?
☛ How would you integrate social media into a national ad campaign?
☛ If advertising became obsolete, what would be your next career choice, and why?
☛ What keeps you motivated?
☛ Explain the creative strategy and impact on the public of one of our current clients.
☛ How do you measure the effectiveness of an advertising campaign?
☛ How would you design and implement an advertising campaign for a new consumer product?
☛ How would you persuade a customer that a product you are advertising is better than the competition's product?
☛ What steps would you take to handle an unhappy client?
☛ Do you believe that any publicity, even bad publicity, is good publicity?
☛ What qualities do you think are needed to be successful in this field?
☛ What are the major trends in advertising today?
☛ What is the difference between marketing, sales, and advertising?
☛ What is the most effective way to measure and track advertising campaigns?
☛ What do you consider to be the most effective form of advertising and why?
☛ Explain in one sentence, this company's mission?
☛ Do you understand this company's target market and clients?
☛ How would you describe this agency?
☛ Why would this agency be a good fit for you?
☛ What unique skills and talent can you contribute to this company?
31. Fresh Ads Posting Manager Job Interview Questions:
☛ What are the advantages and disadvantages of using Twitter to interact with clients?
☛ In which cases do you find Instagram more useful than Facebook or Twitter?
☛ Are you familiar with the latest social media features, like Facebook Live and Instagram Stories? How would you use them?
☛ How do you find out our Facebook followers' demographics and why they are useful?
☛ What tools do you use to schedule posts?
☛ Do you have experience with Content Management Systems?
☛ How can you tell if an account is bot?
☛ How do you decide optimal times/days to post on social media?
☛ What metrics do you monitor on a daily basis? How do you present them to the Marketing department?
32. Top Ads Posting Manager Job Interview Questions:
☛ Which social media network do you mostly use in your personal life and why?
☛ Describe an effective promotional campaign through social media. What was your role and what did you do to make this campaign successful?
☛ How do you stay on top of new trends and features?
☛ How have you managed to raise brand awareness using social media? Mention specific examples from your previous positions (e.g. competitions and ads.)
33. Behavioral Ads Posting Manager Job Interview Questions:
☛ What brands inspire you? Why do you think their campaigns are effective?
☛ How do current trends in the advertising industry inform your work?
☛ Which of our clients would you like to work with? Why?
☛ What sets us apart from our competitors?
☛ Describe the clients you're working with now. Are they B2B? B2C?
☛ Describe a time you had to sell something.
☛ What would you consider your most creative work in this field?
☛ How do you prioritize your workload with multiple clients?
☛ Describe a time your client disagreed with the marketing strategy. How did you handle it?
☛ What systems have you used to stay on budget with your projects?
☛ How would you rate yourself on meeting deadlines?
☛ How does your current team handle reporting and analytics?
☛ Talk about some integrated campaigns you've worked on. Which channels did you use and why?
☛ What is your experience with offline channels? How have you integrated them with online channels?
☛ Describe a time you worked with a team towards a shared goal.
34. Sample Ads Posting Manager Job Interview Questions:
☛ How would you describe the current advertising field as it stands right now?
☛ What do you see as the future of advertising?
☛ What types of advertising tools have you worked with?
☛ Describe a time that you used an advertising strategy that failed.
☛ Describe some of the advertising strategies/platforms/campaigns you have created.
☛ What types of testing do you use to gauge the effectiveness of your advertising project?
☛ What made you decide to go into advertising?
☛ Do you understand our target market/demographic?
☛ How would you compare advertising today to what it was like 10 years ago?
☛ What do you consider the most effective current form of advertising?
☛ What do you feel most unsuccessful companies lack in terms of advertising?
☛ What do you consider an effective advertisement and how do you evaluate it?
☛ How do you develop your advertising strategies?
☛ What expertise do you have that makes you a better candidate than other applicants?
☛ Do you believe there is such thing as “bad publicity?”
35. Basic Ads Posting Manager Job Interview Questions:
☛ If hired, what are the first metrics you would like to see to learn about our current social media strategy?
☛ How would you promote a company event on social media?
☛ If we wanted to attract a younger audience, which network would you prefer to use, and why?
☛ How would you track mentions of our company online?
☛ How would you respond to a troll account?
☛ What would be your reply to a client posting negative comments about the company online?
☛ Why would you choose/not choose to use Facebook paid ads?